Common gluten-free question:
“Is wheat-free the same as “gluten-free?”
We know that for anyone with food issues it’s important to read the labels carefully to be sure that what you’re about to eat or feed to your family is safe for your specific dietary restrictions. When it comes to gluten-free eating it can often be confusing because there are so many different names for the different grains (wheat, oats, rye, barley) that contain gluten.
One common question I am asked for those who are new to the gluten-free diet or new to hearing about it relates to the confusing labels and names for gluten. It’s important to know the difference between the two phrases, “wheat-free” and “gluten-free”.
Click through to read the answer to the common question, “is wheat-free the same as gluten-free?”:
Answer: nope! & it’s important to know the difference too!
The big difference here is:
A product can be wheat-free without being gluten-free.
It could be a cereal that doesn’t contain wheat, but may be made with oat or barley which is then NOT gluten-free. However, if a product says it’s “gluten-free” then it’s always “wheat-free” as well.
Labeling laws were tricky here in Canada a few years ago because a product needed to disclose if there was wheat in the product (being one of the top 8 allergens), but didn’t necessarily legal have to disclose if the product contained gluten. Since the new laws were introduced in August, food labels are becoming more clear to include gluten-containing warnings.
Also read: Canadian Food Label Laws Re-IntroducedShare This Post: Tweet