Myth: Spelt is safe for people with celiac disease
Truth: Spelt is NOT SAFE for people with celiac disease
I am not sure where this myth started or why there are still medical professionals who believe this myth but spelt is not gluten free. It is a species of wheat – also known as Triticum spelta and was called “dinkle” by early farmers.
If you see a product that contains spelt, spelt flour, spelt starch or Triticum spelta do not eat the product. There are some people with a wheat allergy (non-anaphylaxis) who report that spelt flour is easier to digest then wheat flour – however it is not safe to consume if you have celiac disease.
Please ask a qualified and knowledgeable doctor if you have a wheat allergy, gluten/wheat intolerance and wish to test out spelt.Share This Post: Tweet